My Surprise Virtual Bridal Shower (aka the time I cried for an hour straight)

Holy moly it has been a crazy month.  I have had so much to share but not any time to blog.  We are down to crunch time.  My parents will be here in 3 days and the wedding is less than 3 weeks away!  I am so excited I can hardly stand it.  The past month our business has really taken off.  We had 4 new clients sign on and two of our other clients that are contract based really started to ramp up the hours we were putting in.  So for the past 3 weeks we have put in 12-14 hour days every day.  Which is extremely exhausting.  I don’t want to complain but with the wedding so close I thought I was going to die.  But I do see light at the end of the tunnel and I know this is all worth it.  🙂  Currently I am drinking my Kona coffee and listening to Frank Sinatra as I finally get to relax and blog about one of the most memorable times in my life.

So… I have been a little down about not having bridal showers or registering for things.  I felt like I was missing out on something but knew that it wasn’t really that important.  In August, I really started to miss my family.  Brittany and I are the youngest of the cousins on my mom’s side of the family and I grew up watching every move my cousins made.  I can tell you the type of gum my cousin LeAnn chewed in high school (I would beg my mom to buy it for me but never dare tell her that I was pretending to be LeAnn).  I once made up a secret handshake for my cousin David and I to do but was too shy to ever teach it to him. My cousin Michelle let me borrow her wand lip gloss once and it was the only kind I wanted to use in middle school.  I could go on about each cousin that I adore.  I also looked forward to all their weddings.  We would dance to “Family Tradition” and the adults would drink keg beer.  My cousin Kris and his friend did this little choreographed dance at a reception and I went and taught all my friends.  Little did I know at the time I was mimicking slapping a girls butt (I still know the dance if you want to see it).  But hey, Kris did the dance, so it must be cool.  I had been going through each of our southern Indiana, keg drinking, dancing all night receptions in my head.  And I was having a hard time with not having the wedding back in Indiana.  Only one of my aunts from my mom’s side is coming to my wedding out of the whole group.    Now I knew that planning a destination wedding like this was not something most people could do.  And I take all the responsibility for my family not coming but as we got closer to the wedding I was missing them so much.  As the youngest cousin who worshiped her older family members, it was tough to swallow that they weren’t going to be singing “Friends in Low Places” with me.  Again, I knew the choice was strictly financial for them not a lack of love and support.  Okay… so now that I have you depressed… wait til you see what they did for me.  And I can honestly say I had NO IDEA!

I woke up on Saturday morning and Chris said, “I have a webinar I have to watch at 11am today.  But I was thinking we should go to the Crouching Lion for lunch afterwards then head up the coast.”  Whoa… Chris wanted to take me to a fancy lunch.  So I agreed and got dressed.  Even though it was a nicer place I still didnt feel like putting nice clothes on.  This is Hawai`i.  Pony tail and tank top is juuust fine.  In the meantime, Chris is setting up to watch this webinar.  I go outside to call mom and vent about Chris having to watch a webinar on Saturday because a client told him to.  When I called mom she was acting really weird.  I said, “Mom, what is wrong?  You are acting really weird. Where are you?”

“At Batesville Wing Company.”

“Oh. Who all is there?”

“Umm.. just me, your dad, Maxine, Melissa.. the usual”

“Ummm…okay.  (insert vent about the webinar)”

“Well, I’ll call you when I get home.”

I got off the strange call and I planted myself in our chair to watch TV and play around on Facebook while Chris watches that dang webinar.  Chris made weird comments about the lady’s voice being the same as the last one he watched and then again that the content was similar.  I paid no attention. (Little did I know he was watching the same webinar he had watched the week before and wanted to make sure I didnt catch on.  Yeah right. I’m on Facebook, I have no idea what is going on).  Then Skype started ringing on Chris’s desktop.  He told me to answer it that it was my mom.  Again, I still didnt pick up on it that she was calling Chris computer and not mine that was on my lap.  So I get up and answer then make the adjustments so that we can video chat.  At first I didn’t understand why there were so many people in leis in front of the camera.  I thought it was a picture she was holding up.  When they yelled surprise I immediately started crying.  Not just a little crying.  Like a 45 minute OMG crying each time I saw someone new who was there.  I will let the photos finish this story…

SURPRISE!!!!

In shock. This lasted for awhile.

My aunt Bonnie and my wonderful mother. My mom had been planning this for MONTHS! LOVE YOU!

My Aunt Bev! It was so good to see her! And those beach balls are niiiice.

I think I could be a soap star. Look at those tears in HD.

My amazing friend Abbey. We were born less than a day apart right down the hall from each other. The definition of friends forever.

My niece Mallory holding baby McKenna. This was the first time I was able to "meet" Meredith's baby girl!

Aunt Bonnie 🙂

Molly and Maggie drove all the way from Indy to make me cry. And cry. And then laugh hysterically.

My grandma Ann. She didnt think the telephone would work in Hawaii... this must have been really special for her to see technology bring us together.

I finally fixed my hair a bit, put on some waterproof makeup and perfume. Yes, I put on perfume without thinking.

I really, really miss my grandpa. It was a very special moment for me.

Uh oh! My beautiful cousin Shannon, my crazy uncle Ted anmd gorgeous aunt Lavonne! Uncle Ted and Aunt Lavonne will be at the wedding. Hawaii wont know what hit it!

Chris got a pic from our side of the camera.

Screen capture. The best part was we were telling them to smile and they didnt know where to look. Haha

What do you notice about this photo that isnt in the previous photo? Do you have booze in your hand Molly?

My super cool cousin Leann let us use her restaurant for the party. I wonder what type of gum she chews now...

Mom doesn't miss any important detail when throwing a party. I don't know how she pulled this off along with planning my wedding. She is a super star.

My brother-in-law David practicing his hula for when he gets out here!

My nephew Gabe in the front stayed right there for the first 45 minutes. He would just smile and say "HI!" every minute. Miss him so much!

Alexa and Gabe!

A

Thank you so so much for the amazing surprise. It came at a perfect time. A big thank you to Chris's parents for helping so much. They took the photos so unfortunately I don't have any of them to post on here. We love you all!

3 thoughts on “My Surprise Virtual Bridal Shower (aka the time I cried for an hour straight)

  1. I cried during this whole post. You are so blessed to have such amazing family and friends. Your mom is awesome. I’m still crying! 🙂 The wedding is going to be incredible! Can’t wait to see pictures. I will be thinking of you during these next 3 weeks. Hang in there! Enjoy every second it of it! Much love from here to there!

  2. So i have to comment….for two reasons 1) to stay in the game with your mom with the most posts 2) because i miss you & every blog you put in here makes me cry. You seriously need to turn these blogs into some kind of book to share with your kids someday.

Leave a Reply

